Remote Wipe Your Device Using 2X MDM

0
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Email this to someonePrint this pagePin on PinterestShare on TumblrBuffer this pageShare on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

In our previous tutorial, we showed you how to remotely lock your iOS and Android devices. In this tutorial, we’ll show you how to remotely wipe your mobile devices, which is a security measure you’ll most likely have to take if your device has been lost or stolen. If you have corporate or sensitive data stored on your device and you don’t want it falling into the wrong hands, remotely wiping it will reset it back to its factory default status, as well as wiping any data stored on the SD card.

Two Methods on How to Remotely Wipe Your Mobile Device

There are two ways to wipe a mobile device and we’ll show you how to remotely wipe your mobile devices using both methods in this tutorial.

The first way to wipe your mobile device is to send the wipe command through the 2X MDM dashboard while the device has an active data connection (Wi-Fi). If  your mobile device isn’t connected, you can still remotely wipe it by sending an SMS message. “What happens if my mobile device doesn’t have an active connection or a GSM signal?”, I can hear you thinking. In this case, the wipe command will be executed as soon as your smartphone or tablet receives a signal from either source.

To remote wipe a device:

  1. Log into your 2X MDM admin area. Go to https://admin.mobiledevicemanager.com and fill in your personal identification credentials. If you don’t have a 2X MDM account, you can register your free 5 device account here
  2. Click on the “Devices” node and select the device that you want to wipe.
  3. Make sure that you really want to wipe the device. once the command has been sent, the device will be wiped clean!
  4. Click on the “Wipe” button on the top bar of your 2X MDM user interface. The above dialog should appear. If your device has an active data connection (is connected to a Wi-Fi network), we suggest leaving the “Sent Command by SMS” option unchecked.
  5. To “Wipe” (return the device to its factory settings) a device, you need to input the administrative password (that is the password that you used to log in to your 2X MDM Account) to confirm the command.
  6. If you don’t enter the correct administrator password when you try to wipe a device, an error message will be shown (notice the red box around the “Administrator Password” field) and the wipe will not be performed.
  7. Once you type the correct administrator password and press the “Wipe” button, a confirmation message will appear verifying that the device will indeed be wiped.

Sean Bianco is the marketing documentalist and technical writer at Parallels. With a bachelor’s degree in Information Technology and Networking and a three year background in software quality assurance testing and usability engineering, Sean is a subject matter expert in mobility and smartphone, app and device management. He is well-versed in developing technical articles and determining market trends. His excellent analytical and problem-solving skills, with emphasis on understanding relationships between technical problems, result in sound and effective business solutions.